Wedson Nyirenda @ SS com
Wedson Nyirenda @ SS com

Nyirenda names 29 for Gabon friendly

Chipolopolo Coach Wedson Nyirenda has named a 29 member provisional squad for two international friendly matches against Ethiopia and Gabon on May 27 and June 3 respectively.

The all local assemblage, that goes in residential camp on Sunday, will be part of Nyirenda’s preparation for the June 10 Africa Cup qualifier against Mozambique in Ndola.

Nyirenda will also have the Cosafa Castle Cup and African Nations Championship (CHAN) preparations in frame when the local players join camp.

Team Manager Chris Chibuye released the names to stressing that players that will report late to camp will be sent away.

Chibuye said that the technical bench had excluded players from Zesco United and Zanaco as they were engaged in continental assignments.

He however said that the players from Zesco United and Zanaco will join the team alongside foreign based players in Ndola before the game against Mozambique on June 10.

“We are emphasizing that the players arrive on time. Any player who arrives late without any due cause will not be allowed to join the team. We expect them to arrive as soon as they are released by their clubs considering the towns they are coming from,” Chibuye said.

The team is tentatively set to leave for Ethiopia on Thursday with the game set for Saturday. From the Ethiopia the team will head straight to Libreville where they will engage Gabon on Saturday before heading straight to Ndola on the final leg of preparations for the Africa Cup of Nations clash against Mozambique.

Zambia is in Group K alongside Mozambique, Namibia and Guinea Bissau for the race to Cameroun 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.


GOALKEEPERS: Allan Chibwe (Power Dynamos FC), Charles Mweemba (Lumwana Radiants FC), Kelvin Malunga (Nkana FC)

DEFENDERS: Given Sinyangwe (Nkana FC), Adrian Chama (Green Buffaloes FC), Billy Mutale (Power Dynamos FC), Enock Chingwere (Lumwana Radiants FC), Moonga Chilimba (Kabwe Warriors FC), Isaac Samujomba Defender (Nchanga Rangers FC ), Donashano Malama (Nkana FC), Lawrence Chungu (Power Dynamos FC), Mumbi Mweene (Green Buffaloes FC), Mwila Phiri (Green Eagles FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Stanley Nshimbi (Red Arrows FC), Jackson Chirwa (Green Buffaloes FC ), Collins Sikombe (Napsa Stars FC), Clatous Chama (Lusaka Dynamos FC ), Austine Banda (Napsa FC), Kelvin Mubanga Kampamba (Power Dynamos FC), Godfrey Ngwenya (Power Dynamos FC), Fwayo Tembo (Power Dynamos)

STRIKERS: Jonas Sakuwaha (Buidcon FC), Ignatius Luipa (Nakambala Leopards), Lubinda Mundia (Red Arrows FC), Ronald Kampamba (Nkana FC), Chitiya Mususu (Napsa Stars FC), Justin Shonga (Nkhwazi FC), Brian Mwila (Green Buffaloes FC), Diamond Chikwekwe (Green Buffaloes FC), Mwansa Nsofwa (Lusaka Dynamos FC)